Skip to Main Content

US NoodleTools How-to Guide: Create an Annotated Bibliography

This guide provides tutorials and support pages to help you use NoodleTools.

Create an Annotated Bibliography

What Is an Annotated Bibliography?

How to add or edit an annotation

Create an annotated bibliography

What Is an annotated bibliography?
An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents where each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation.

The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.

Definition used with permission from Olin Library Reference Research & Learning Services, Cornell University Library, Ithaca, NY, USA via https://guides.library.cornell.edu/annotatedbibliography/home


Follow these steps to create an annotated bibliography in NoodleTools:

Step 1. Create your citation in NoodleTools and then use the text box at the bottom for your annotation:



Step 2. Add your annotation for each source using the following structure:

Your annotation should be between 150 and 300 words maximum.

Summary - Write 1-2 sentences summarizing the content of the material. Be sure to include all the main points but add detailed information as you critically examine the entire source.

Evaluation – Add 1-2 sentences evaluating the information and author, thinking about the CRAAP guidelines. The information should be detailed and specific and reflect your critical reading and analysis of the source.
Is the author a respected authority on the subject?
Can you trust the facts provided?
What type of audience was this source written for?
Is the author biased in their point of view?
Does this information from this source corroborate with information from other sources?

Reflection/Purpose - Add 1-2 sentences reflecting on the usefulness of this source for your project.
Did this source provide you with a major portion of information about your topic or miniscule amounts?
Did the source contain interesting information?
Did the source teach you something new about your topic?

NoodleTools Support

🧭 Quick Guides for Students and Teachers