LibGuides: DP Extended Essay: Film

Film Studies - ISA Databases

Britannica Academic
Includes articles from 7 global news feeds and EBSCO Journals and Periodicals. Integrated with Britannica ImageQuest, Merriam-Webster Dictionary, and curated web sites.

Click here for login details.

Subject specific search: Film

JSTOR - Film Studies
Search within Film Studies collection of journals and books.

Click here for login details.

Login with you ISA G Guite account

ISA News & Global Issues Databases

The Day
Current affairs explained in short articles written and illustrated by The Day's staff writers and graphic artists, including questions to spark critical thinking and student inquiry.

Click here for login details.

Financial Times
Group pass subscription, must be on campus to create account.

NewsBank - Access World News
“Explore and stay informed on global topics, people and events in areas such as environment, business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources from around the world, from 1980 to present.”

Click here for login details.

The New York Times
Subscription to The New York Times available via our on-campus access to the ISA Libraries' Group Pass link.

Click here for login details.

Film

Filmish: a Graphic Journey Through Film by Edward Ross
Call Number: GN 791.43 ROS
ISBN: 9781910593035
Publication Date: 2015-11-03
In graphic novel format looks at the history of motion pictures.
The Boy Who Became a Dragon by Jim Di Bartolo (Illustrator)
Call Number: GN B LEE
ISBN: 9781338134124
Publication Date: 2020-02-04
Tells the life story of martial artist Bruce Lee in graphic form.

Film - Journals

Open Access Journals - adapted from this list via U of Calgary's Libraries and Cultural Resources:

Bright Lights Film Journal - committed to "wide-ranging, literate, fun, progressive articles on any subject related to film."

Journal of Religion and Film - peer reviewed journal which is committed to the study of connections between the medium of film and the phenomena of religion.

Jump Cut : a review of contemporary media
Looking at media in its social and political context since 1974. Analyzing media in relation to class, race, and gender.

Use: site:ejumpcut.org/home.html

Movie: A Journal of Film Criticism
A refereed open access publication whose aim is to create a forum for the range of analysis, debate and discussion that only a journal devoted to a detailed film criticism can adequately provide.

Use site:https://warwick.ac.uk/fac/arts/film/movie/ then your search terms.

Example: site:https://warwick.ac.uk/fac/arts/film/movie/ "Buffy the Vampire Slayer"

https://warwick.ac.uk/fac/arts/film/movie/contents/
ebook_readingbuffy.pdf

Reverse Shot
A different angle on moving images—past, present, and future. A publication of the Museum of the Moving Image.

Scope: An online journal of film and television studies: ISSN 1465-9166
Scope is a fully peer-reviewed online journal edited by staff and students in the Institute of Film & Television Studies at the University of Nottingham

Film - Videos

Folkstreams.net - Documentary films of American folk life.

Internet Archive - contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.

Open culture - free movies online:Watch 1,150 movies free online. Includes classics, indies, film noir, documentaries and other films, created by some of our greatest actors, actresses and directors. The collection is divided into the following categories: Comedy & Drama; Film Noir, Horror & Hitchcock; Westerns (many with John Wayne); Martial Arts Movies; Silent Films; Documentaries, and Animation. We also have special collections of Oscar Winning Movies and Films by Andrei Tarkovsky and Charlie Chaplin.

HiBrow - a website devoted to streaming videos of the arts.

The Steven Spielberg Jewish Film Archive - More than 300 films available for Internet viewing

Open Access Databases and AI

CORE: The world’s largest collection of open access research papers
Search for open access research content.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Elicit - The AI Research Assistant
Elicit can find relevant papers without perfect keyword match, summarize takeaways from the paper specific to your question, and extract key information from the papers.

ProQuest Open Access Dissertations and Theses
Full text, open access dissertations and theses free of charge.

DP Extended Essay: Film

Group 6: Film

Film: Subject-specific guidance

Film Studies - ISA Databases

Click here for login details.

Subject specific search: Film

Click here for login details.

Login with you ISA G Guite account

ISA News & Global Issues Databases

Film

Film - Journals

Open Access Journals - adapted from this list via U of Calgary's Libraries and Cultural Resources:

Film - Videos

Open Access Databases and AI