LibGuides: DP Extended Essay: Group 2: Language acquisition

IB Subject-Specific Guidance

Use the jump menus under each subject for further information about all four pieces of the subject-specific guidance:

Overview
Choice of topic
Treatment of the topic
Interpreting the EE assessment criteria

Group 2: Language acquisition

Language acquisition: Subject-specific guidance

ISA Reference Databases

Bloom's Literature
Use Bloom's to explore literary criticism of authors from Shakespeare to J.K. Rowling, watch full-length videos of classic plays and films, images, full-text books and poems, and curated topic centers on literary movements.

Click here for login details.

JSTOR
Offers archival and current journals, primary sources and books on the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Extensive date coverage. Updated regularly.

Click here for login details.

ISA News & Global Issues Databases

The Day
Current affairs explained in short articles written and illustrated by The Day's staff writers and graphic artists, including questions to spark critical thinking and student inquiry.

Click here for login details.

Financial Times
Group pass subscription, must be on campus to create account.

NewsBank - Access World News
“Explore and stay informed on global topics, people and events in areas such as environment, business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources from around the world, from 1980 to present.”

Click here for login details.

The New York Times
Subscription to The New York Times available via our on-campus access to the ISA Libraries' Group Pass link.

Click here for login details.

Open Access Resources

CORE: The world’s largest collection of open access research papers
Search for open access research content.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Europeana
Search, save and share art, books, films and music from thousands of cultural institutions.

Nonfiction Text Types

BBC Non-Fiction Text Types
Differences between newspaper articles of all sorts, tabloids, broadsheets, along with rhetorical devices employed by each.

Cultural Artifacts

CULTURAL ARTIFACTS

For 2(b), “cultural artifacts” include anything concrete or tangible that helps to give insight into the target culture and language, such as:

Written documents: newspapers, magazines, news headlines, articles, books, cartoons, adverts, leaflets, brochures or manifestos, laws or policies, historical documents or records.
Spoken documents: screenplays, radio or television programmes, song lyrics, interviews.
Visual documents: works of fine art, architecture (buildings, monuments, etc), films, stamps.
Cultural icons: fashion items and accessories (as a manifestation of culture), food items, dishes (as a manifestation of culture), brands (as a manifestation of culture).

The following do not qualify as cultural artifacts: political events (elections, referendums), historical events, social movements (eg riots), social issues (unemployment, immigration, racism, school violence, the role of women in country X, etc), towns or regions (“travel guide” essays), (minority) ethnic groups, media trends, styles of music, sports, traditions, institutions (school systems, political parties, etc) ("Language Acquisition").

BBC Bitesize English Learning Skills

BBC Non-Fiction Text Types - All
Non-fiction texts come in many types, and have many different purposes. They surround us in everyday life but can also come in more sophisticated forms.

DP Extended Essay: Group 2: Language acquisition

IB Subject-Specific Guidance

Group 2: Language acquisition

Language acquisition: Subject-specific guidance

ISA Reference Databases

ISA News & Global Issues Databases

Open Access Resources

Nonfiction Text Types

Cultural Artifacts

CULTURAL ARTIFACTS

BBC Bitesize English Learning Skills

Nonfiction Text Types

Biography

Information leaflet

Letter

Review

Newspaper Articles

Diaries and Blogs

Essay

Travel Writing